David Sylvian
1988/05/30- London, England, Hammersmith Odeon

1. Ancient Evening
2. Incantation
3. Orpheus
4. Before The Bullfight
5. Taking The Veil
6. Weathered Wall
7. The Boy With The Gun
8. Riverman
9. The Grand Parade (Mark Isham)
10. Band Introduction
11. The Ink In The Well
12. Nostalgia
13. Forbidden Colours-Backwaters
14. Brilliant Trees
15. Steel Cathedrals
16. Let The Happiness In
17. Gone To Earth
18. Awakening

Excellent recording. After the collapse of the band Japan, Sylvian continued further with the sound into his solo career. These are strange, wonderful places. Moody, atmospheric, affecting. Some border on new-agey easy listening, but pass quickly before returning to the more powerful.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s